a lot to wine about

I am not sure what took me so long to fall in love with the nightly glass. It probably was the years of nursing my kids that wrote it off.  After many conversations with parents of young children, we all secretly admit that the witching hour requires an antidote. Our cure: wine.

After my travels to Australia, I realized that our Westernized culture doesn’t embrace or appreciate the love of food like my good friends Kate and Iain did. I was witness to a romancing of the kitchen that I had never experienced before. The music went on (we played a lot of fleet foxes and geoffrey gurrumul) the wine was poured, the kids played or participated in meal preparation and we all had a role that turned into a privilege. I wish my eyes had the ability to record memories in slow motion cause it was an event that was worthy of a replay to catch it’s beauty.

This event was one I have tried to re-enact over and over in my home. Whether a week night dinner or a feast for 10. It was such a beautiful thing to have my extended family over for Christmas this year. We planned on taking turns making meals which then led us to the Liquor store “ooing and awing” over all the wines we could pair with the amazing culinary creations. 350 dollars later we had a week of meals planned with the antidote well thought out.

Wine pairing and mealtime is something I have come to appreciate. The shared table, a lost resource. When the table becomes all about the connection and nutrition, I find I whine less.

Categories: being mum, wine | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.